Life is Good (and So Is Leaving Your Comfort Zone)

I love those little “Life is good” cartoons.  I see them littered all over my Facebook news page.  I even spot them as bumper stickers on cars and on T-shirts.  They are cute, clever, and sometimes can have quite a deep meaning.  I ran into that recently with this cute pic posted by a friend on Facebook:

The tag line for this pic was “Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.  Go deep.”  Wow.  That hit me right between the eyes as I have left my comfort zone for deeper, richer waters (richer = more fulfilling and challenging).  My friend, Tike’s, words to me resonated as I read this – Tike had offered advice to me when I was sharing with him my struggles regarding moving to a new church and how worried I was about leaving what was so comfortable to me.  I remember so clearly sharing my concerns with him and after he let me babble on and on he then replied, matter-of-factly, “Monica, when does God ever want you to be comfortable?”  Wow.

It was then that I knew this was my path – the challenging path . . . the path less traveled . . . maybe even the uncomfortable path.  But, you know what?  As challenging as following God can be sometimes, I don’t regret a SECOND of this journey.  And, interestingly enough, my husband has been “tugged” and will be starting a new, more challenging job in August.  He, too, realized his “comfort zone” needed to be breached.

Are you too comfortable right now?  Are you feeling the “tug” of God pulling you in a different direction?  Are you being held back by fear of what “going deeper” would entail?  My friends, God’s path IS a more challenging one, but a MORE REWARDING one!  Let go and follow God today – dive a bit deeper to leave the comfortable behind and embrace the challenging!  I’ll be down there with you, praying for you the whole way! 🙂

About revmonica

I'm the Director of Growth Ministries at Williamsons Chapel United Methodist Church and the proud wife of Steve and mommy to Morgan and Gavin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment