Strength in Numbers

My apologies, but I have to begin this post with a side-note . . . I’m THRILLED serving in this new setting, with an amazing staff, and a wonderful church.  God is GOOD and I am BLESSED!  Okay, thanks for letting me share . . . now on to my musings . . .

Today was my first official “staff” meeting while serving in this new church.  It was led by a colleague and a friend (our Sr. Pastor is on a mission trip) and she began by leading us to Ecclesiastes 4:9-10.  Here is that passage in the Common English Bible version:

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Common English Bible (CEB)

Two are better than one because they have a good return for their hard work. 10 If either should fall, one can pick up the other. But how miserable are those who fall and don’t have a companion to help them up!

Great verses, right?  My synapses immediately began firing when I read this because this is SO true and very much mirrored in my own life right now.  I’m finding strength daily with the conversations I’m having with other staff, their willingness to step up and help me, their joy in ministry and vision for the future of this church.  It is miserable to be alone – to feel overwhelmed as you try to accomplish a task by yourself.  It’s so difficult!  But God didn’t create us to be alone – God created us to work together, to have relationships with one another.

Now I believe that God sends you what you need, when you need it.  This is no exception.  My colleague had no idea how this would speak to me today . . .  but God knew.  How awesome is it that the Lord knows what we need before we need it – and God MEETS those needs head on.  I’m energized and I hope you are, too.  I encourage you to consider reading further, perhaps all the way through verse 12.  The image of the triple-braided chord is so powerful.

My prayer is that we all can take a moment to look around and see our brothers and sisters in Christ as strength to our one chord, that we will gather together and reach others for Christ in a powerful way.  In numbers, and TOGETHER, we can do all things through GOD who strengthens us!

About revmonica

I'm the Director of Growth Ministries at Williamsons Chapel United Methodist Church and the proud wife of Steve and mommy to Morgan and Gavin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment